This Website and the Sub Sites attached to it use cookies. For details please click here. By continuing to use this Website or any Sub Sites, you are consenting to the use of these cookies. You can switch off cookies at any time using your browser settings but if you do, this may affect your user experience.
Please wait...
Halkyn CC Helygain


Michael John Powell

It is with great sadness that we report the loss of another long standing playing member of the Club.

POWELL - MICHAEL JOHN (MIKE), July 3, 2016. Suddenly but peacefully of Nant Alyn Road, Rhydymwyn aged 68 years. Beloved husband of Margaret, dearly loved father to Michelle and David, loving Taidi to Oliver and Henry.

Funeral Service and Committal at Pentrebychan Crematorium on Tuesday 19th July at 2.30pm. Family flowers only but donations if desired towards Rhydymwyn Football Club. All Enquiries; J. E. Davies & Son, 90 Wrexham Street, Mold. Tel: 01352 700155.

Recent changes to the Play-Cricket website have made it more difficult to locate the 3 key areas that are popular with visitors. The following 'buttons' may make life easier until the new means of navigation is fully understood.


The latest (2015) Google Earth aerial fly over picture is now available. Note the new practice net facility at centre top. GOO

A view from the Pavilion looking eastwards - the Runcorn Bridge (25 miles away by road) and Fiddlers Ferry Power station both clearly visible.




 For those of you with internet and e-mail facilities, and have not already done so, please apply to become a member of the site. Go to top of this page and click on SIGN UP; complete the details to become an on-line member. This will aid in communicating with you electronically afterwards and provide greater access to pages on this site. 

Practice Facilities at Pant Newydd

We are pleased to report that work on the new artificial practice lane commenced on schedule on Monday 23rd February. Weather conditions, so far, have been kind and progress has been good. 


Day 2


Special stone is laid (30 tonne). Comes from Anglesey and is used wherever in the UK that similar practice facilities are constructed. Thursday will see the area being consolidated by mechanical 'whacker' plate then more stone added to achieve final levels. 

Day 2


Morning marred by heavy rain but still good progress. No visit at end of the day but the following photograph taken at 1000hrs on Day 5.Batting and Bowling end carpets now laid. Work on consolidating the stone edges in progress and the intermediate and surrounding carpet being laid.



Good progress made but Contractors having finished the laying of the carpets took the opportunity to finish around 2pm to head home to beat the Friday afternoon traffic. They return for the final time on Monday to top up the sand infill and carry out the repair to the artificial pitch on the main square.


NatWest CricketForce 2015 will take place over the weekend of 27-29 March. 

Make a note in your diary to enable us to build on the good work carried out during inclement weather last year. Remember 'many hands make light work'

Cricket Force week-end 5-6 April  2014 

Some of the Club Volunteers who attended on a grey and cool day.

Much good work was possible despite the conditions.image

HCC 2nd XI vs Ruthin II

August 2nd 2014




Club Presentation Evening - September 2015

 List of Award Winners

 1st X1 Batting – Timothy Davies

1st X1 Bowling – Graeme Settle

2nd X1 Batting – Keith Williams

2nd XI Bowling – David Odgers

Young Player of the Year – Keiron McLeod

 All juniors were presented with medallions.

Gifts were presented to Jane Williams, and Gail Jones for their hard work. The groundstaff were also thanked for their unstinting efforts throughout the whole 12 months.

The awards this year were presented by long serving Club Treasurer Roger Bellis another senior member with a distinguished playing career. Club President John Ivor Roberts was away.

 First XI Batting Award 


Timothy Davies

First XI Bowling Award

Graeme Settle

 2nd XI Batsman Award

Keith Williams 

2nd XI Bowling Award

David Odgers

The 'Young Player of the Year' Award went to  Keiron McLeod

 Keiron McLeod  Some of the Juniors from mixed age groups at the presentation evening.

Junior Section



 Cricket: Halkyn CC dominate at North Wales League AGM

 HALKYN CC capped a great 2009 at the North Wales League AGM.

 The club clinched promotion to Division One in September and on Sunday three members of their squad picked up individual honours.

 Maelor Thomas received the Division Two batting award for scoring 775 runs at an average of 64 and brother Gareth, manager of Buckley Town FC, collected the bowling award for taking 27 wickets at an average of 9.78. To complete a clean sweep, veteran Mike Briscoe collected the wicketkeeping award for snaring 22 victims during the summer.

 Jamie Parsonage, of Halkyn 2nds, shared the wicketkeeping award for Division Five with 13 victims.

 Some of the unwelcome discoveries below the surface of the outfield during recent attempts to rectify the drainage problems which badly affected the 2012 season


 Drainage Project July 27- August 5 2015

Following earlier unsuccessful attempts to rectify the drainage of the outfield eventually funding was obtained to install new primary drainage overlaid by sand slitting as secondary drainage to quickly remove the surface water,

Work in progress connecting diagonal primary drains into the main drain surrounding the square.


Day 2 of the project. Trenches being cut to a depth of 450mm to allow the insertion of 60mm perforated drain pipe. 


The following picture shows the completed project. 1.5 miles of primary drainage pipe was installed overlaid by 12000 metres of sand slits to a depth of 250mm. Trenches were initially filled with gravel to within 100mm of the surface then sand added to complete the remaining infill.
Sadly, the type of sand we sourced was not of the ideal type and some additional infill remains to be done before the oufield can be considered safe to play on again.


Further picture will be added over coming weeks.